Above Nav Container

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Head of School Search

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Tom McManus
as the next Head of Montgomery School, effective July 1, 2020. 


Tom McManus currently serves as the CEO and Head of Mission at Revolution School, an innovative, progressive high school in Philadelphia. As a founding member of the leadership team, Tom contributed to the establishment and exponential growth of the school by promoting mission-driven partnerships, building a framework to ensure the organization's success, and overseeing the day-to-day operations of the school.

Tom, who holds a master’s in private school leadership from Columbia University, Teachers College, has enjoyed success in a variety of roles throughout his 26-year career in education — from regional director of admissions, to director of studies and college counseling, to head of upper school. Prior to joining the Revolution School, Tom spent six years as a high school principal at Mid-Pacific Institute in Honolulu, HI.

"During the search process, we were astounded not only by the enthusiastic feedback we received about Tom, but also by the extent to which his qualities and skills matched those that our community members clearly articulated they were looking for in Montgomery's next Head of School," wrote Board of Trustees Chair Staci Williams Seeley. "Tom is a seasoned academic leader who is passionate about his philosophy and beliefs. He possesses a love of children and has a deep appreciation for the distinctive environment that Montgomery has created and sustained. He also brings creative insight and a high energy level for leading Montgomery School into its next chapter." 


The Search Committee — comprised of Board members, current parents, and faculty and staff members — partnered with our consultants and search experts Burke Zalosh and Bob Vitalo of Carney, Sandoe & Associates, to conduct a search for our next Head of School. The committee solicited input through focus groups and surveys from all Montgomery constituencies to develop the desired qualifications and experience we sought in our next leader. This comprehensive rubric was the guide against which all applicants were measured throughout the search process, from the initial phone screens through the final candidate visits with administrators, faculty, students, board, and search committee members.


Patty Dahm P'15, Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees

Kristine Ilaria P'23,'29, Trustee

Committee Members:
Harry Carpenter P'12,'13,'17, Trustee

Taryn Conroy P'26, School Counselor 
Julie Diaz P'16,'18,'27, MSCA Vice President, 2019-2020

Paul Gilbert P'17,'20,'23, Secretary, Board of Trustees

Michele Long P'24,'26, Trustee

Kami Mulzet, 6th Grade Social Studies Teacher, Marketing Assistant and Social Media Specialist

Staci Williams Seeley P'18, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Communications to the Community